On ragging a IITD professor

How many of you were ragged at IITD? How many ragged your juniors? Did you ever rag a professor?

Ragging culture has been wiped away (almost) from the face of IIT Delhi. This post describes a funny incident where one of my friends, Robo, nearly ragged Professor Shouri Chatterjee. (Almost) Read on to enjoy. 🙂

After the usual Orientation and such boring stuff, we, EE510 group, the Electrical Engineering Dual degree batch of 2010 at IIT Delhi, had our first class. EEN110. That is a course designed to introduce us to the Department.

Enter Robo,  who has (had!) a habit of reaching class half an hour earlier. He goes to The department committee room, to see a very young man working on his laptop, sitting in the last row. There could be no doubt that he is a first year student. He looked so young! Robo sits on a chair by his side, murmurs to himself – What on earth is he doing? All this laptop and working and stuff, on first day?

Robo: Hey, Whats your name?

Young man: (looking puzzled, smiling…)

Robo: Hey man! I’m asking you! what is your name?

Young man: I am Shouri Chatterjee.

Robo: My name is Robo. Where are you from?

Shouri: I’m from West Bengal. (and keeps working)

Robo: (to himself) He’s not going to talk much. Lets wait for others to come.

::: The class gets filled, nearly, and its 9:00 AM. :::
Shouri: Move aside, I need to go.

Robo: Where will you go, man? the professor is about to come.

Shouri: (laughing) Let me go..

::: Robo gives way, Shouri moves towards the first row :::
Robo: (to himself) He should’ve sat in the first bench when he came here. Why this shifting and stuff later?

::: Shouri moves near the board, turns around and.. :::
Shouri: (To the class) Hello all! Welcome to IIT Delhi. I am Professor Shouri Chatterjee, and I will be dealing this course, EEN110.

::: Robo is shocked, his systems hang, and after few frantic attempts of Ctrl+Alt+Del, he regains control. :::

—- After the class —

Robo; I’m sorry sir.

Shouri: No problem. A little more time and you would’ve ragged me, you know, the intro and stuff! 😛

Thanks to my awesome memory, I could only describe the incident dryly, devoid of its beauty. If Robo narrates it again, I’ll remember to update this with the finer details. 🙂

2 thoughts on “On ragging a IITD professor

  1. aashish goyal

    oh!! i had heard quite a tweaked version of this incident…

    Like

  2. […] since long. I’ve never even asked anyone to do it on my behalf either. Someone copied my blog post verbatim, and posted it. They got to my blog by searching “funny incident iit delhi” in […]

    Like

Comments are closed.